Tradition is…

SWEET TO THE SOUL

0,,47963735,00

This recipe is one that leaves a pleasant smell to the kitchen and at hour of testing I can close my eyes to savor each ingredient. This buns are stuffed  with guava jam but I also use other types of jams  and  dulce de leche. I make my homemade jams, but you can use the ones you like most. For those who live in a country that has ease of having guavas, I can give a guava jam recipe. Here in London I have a supplier who brings me fresh guavas. For parties of kids I cut the dough with shapes with flowers, cars, etc…

BUNS  STUFFED WITH  GUAVA  JAMS.

Serves: 40 buns

INGREDIENTS

1 kg  all purpose  flour

1 pkg active dry yeast

1oo g sugar

4 eggs

550 ml  milk

250 g   unsalted  butter

20 g salt

DIRECTIONS:

In  a large mixing  bowl combine the flour and the dry yeast. Also add the eggs,salt and sugar.Stir the ingredients well, I like to mix with hands. Gradually add milk stirring  constantly. When the dough is smooth  and homogeneous, incorporating  butter. Turn out on a floured surface. Stir until the dough  stand smooth and elastic. Let the dough rest 1 hour. After the dough has rested ,divide the dough into small balls. Let rest until doubled in volume for 10 minutes. Finally, open a little balls and put a tablespoon of your favorite jam. Brush the buns with beaten egg. Bake the buns in preheated  220C , until golden.

Good appetite!

Single Post Navigation

6 thoughts on “SWEET TO THE SOUL

  1. My guava jam came out so well. Thank you for the recipe. I tasted the jam with some cheese and with some bread. These buns look delicious too. Now I am hungry for some more jam 🙂

  2. Looks yummy! I love guava…I actually grew up eating it and it’s typical in my country (Dominican Republic) to use guava jam or paste in pastries with cheese. The flavors are amazing! Thanks for sharing 🙂

    • We speak a language very similar! ahhhhhh guava jam and cheese “make the perfect couple” hahahahaha.In my country (Portugal ) and all portuguese speaking countries ,we are addicted to guava marmalade! Hot bread with a thick slice of guava marmalade with cheese HUUUU I’M GOING UP TO THE SKY hahahah !

      • Very interesting! I thought it was a Caribbean thing! I know in Spain they eat a lot of membrillo (quince paste?) with cheese but didn’t know about guava in Portugal. Ok, now you made me crave some! have a sweet day!

Leave a Reply

